Picture
Ta-da! I finished this adorable pair of plush elephants today. The big one was a custom order for a one-year-old boy. I decided to make a coordinating baby as a surprise! I've been playing around with a pattern by Bustle & Sew and thought I'd try a new size. I'm loving them!

I sewed on fleece eyes, instead of buttons like my previous elephants. I made these guys as toddler-friendly as possible, expecting them to be picked up by their ears and tails! 

Picture
The baby stands 5 inches tall and is 6 inches long. Here's a photo of him with a spool of thread for perspective. 

I kind of want to make 1,479 of them -- in all different fabrics! At this size, I'm even thinking of adding a loop so the toy can be attached to strollers or diaper bags. And how about adding crinkles, bells or squeakers? 

Picture
The larger elephant stands 10 inches tall and about a foot long. Her ears are ginormous, which is one of my favorite things about her. She looks great from all different angles. 

I have made elephant plushies in the past, which were much more like pillows. I couldn't figure out how to give them dimension or four legs! I learned a lot about making stuffed animals from the Bustle & Sew pattern. It's all about gussets, baby!

If you want to practice making plushies, Helen at Bustle & Sew is giving away a few tutorials. Along with "Charlie the Elephant" (which I modified to make my elephants), she has an adorable hedgehog plushie! I might have to try that one soon.



Here's a slide show of this patriotic pair! Let me know if you have any questions or thoughts!
Sue C
1/5/2013 03:48:03 pm

Love these guys! Love the solid red back on the ear but you might consider using red thread next time to attach it. I am really fond of the red, white and blue color scheme too!

Reply
Rene
1/5/2013 03:58:02 pm

Sue, thanks for leaving my very first blog comment!! I agree, I should've used red thread. I use a strong button thread for hand-sewing and I didn't have red. Sometimes the most obvious things escape me .. that's why I love getting input from others. Thanks & have a great Sunday!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Rene Smits

    Welcome to my passion! 
    I specialize in creating high-quality custom purses and bags. Feel free to contact me with your custom requests. I also sell my ready-made pieces on Etsy: Sew Much Cuteness.

    Etsy shop

    Facebook page

    Pinterest 

    Email

    Flickr (fabric options):

    Categories

    All
    Animals
    Art
    Birds
    Cross Body
    Cross Body
    Custom Orders
    Elephants
    Ellen Purse
    Emily Bag
    Etsy
    Fabric
    Fabric Stores
    Freebies
    Jill Purse
    Lunch Tote
    Madeleine Bag
    Messenger Bag
    Owls
    Photography
    Plushies
    Pouches
    Purchases
    Purses
    Sales
    Sewing Studio
    Specials
    Tote Bag
    Vintage
    Zigzag Bag

    Archives

    April 2013
    February 2013
    January 2013